Magisk installation (to hide root for bank app)

Hi there,
I just received my iodé phone. Looks fine so far.
I installed my bank application using aurora, but it seems I can’t complete its setup because the phone is detected as rooted. I read on other forums that magisk can be used to make this application work. But I’m a newbie when it comes to rooted smartphones.

I’ve seen magisk is listed in F-droid. Can I just get it installed via F-droid? or does it needs a special - more complex - procedure? if so, could do you please link me to a step-by-step tutorial.

Thanks in advance.

Hello @brazzmonkey .
iodéOS is not rooted after a default installation. Your banking app will probably misinterpret the custom ROM iodéOS and identify it as rooted, even though it is not.

Banking app usually expect stock Android with Google Play services. iodéOS, on the other hand, is equipped with the privacy-preserving mircoG and not the surveillance bug Google Play services. The microG services emulate Google Play Services and very many (banking) apps work with it, but not all.

If necessary, it helps to do without the online login with QR code when setting up the banking app for the first time and instead enter the login code manually in the form of numbers and characters, if this option is available.

Speaking of Root - MagisK. This tool, which has meanwhile been widely developed, makes rooting easier than ever, but - every coin has two sides, which should mean that a rooted smartphone can cause unexpected errors in the operating system, because after all, the elementary boot.img file is usually manipulated. The consequences that may arise from this cannot be handled by the ‘normal user’. Please consider: Some smartphone manufacturers refuse warranty and guarantee in the case of manipulated firmware - and not without justification.

Thanks Odysseus.

Indeed I thought iodé was rooted by default.
The thing is, I need my banking app to validate online payments…